Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, May 26, 2010
Thursday, May 27, 2010

Issue No. 7

First and second meetings on:

Bill C-268, An Act to amend the Criminal Code
(minimum sentence for offences involving trafficking of persons under the age of eighteen years)


Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Joy Smith, Member of Parliament for Kildonan—St. Paul;

Office of Joy Smith, M.P.:

Joel Oosterman, Chief of Staff.

Department of Justice Canada:

Nathalie Levman, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Statistics Canada:

Julie McAuley, Director, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Craig Grimes, Senior Analyst, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Mia Dauvergne, Senior Analyst, Policing Services Program, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Superintendent Shirley Cuillierrier, Director of Immigration and Passport Branch;

Sergeant Marie-Claude Arsenault, Non-commissioned Officer, Human Trafficking National Coordination Centre.

Public Safety Canada:

Barry Mackillop, Director General, Law Enforcement and Border Services Directorate.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Criminal Lawyers' Association:

Michael Spratt, Director.

Canadian Association of Crown Counsel:

Jamie Chaffe, President


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Champagne, P.C., *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, Eaton, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Martin, Merchant, Plett, Seidman

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Dawson (May 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Keon (May 25, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Dawson replaced the Honourable Senator Cordy (May 25, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Callbeck replaced the Honourable Senator Mahovlich (May 13, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Greene (May 13, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (May 13, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Keon replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (May 13, 2010).

Back to top