Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable BOB RUNCIMAN

Friday, December 11, 2015
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016

Issue No. 1

Organization meeting


First and second meetings:

Study on matters pertaining to delays in Canada's criminal justice system


Wednesday, February 3, 2016

As individuals:

The Honourable Patrick J. LeSage, former Chief Justice of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (by video conference);

Carissima Mathen, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa.

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Statistics Canada:

Yvan Clermont, Director, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics;

Josée Savoie, Chief, Courts Program, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics.

Department of Justice Canada:

Donald Piragoff, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Sector;

Stephen Zaluski, General Counsel and Director, Judicial Affairs, Courts and Tribunal Policy;

Anny Bernier, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Elizabeth Hendy, Director General, Programs Branch.


The Honourable Bob Runciman, Chair

The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Baker, P.C., Batters, Boisvenu, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Dagenais, Fraser, Joyal, P.C., MacDonald, McInnis, McIntyre, White

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator MacDonald replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (February 3, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Boisvenu replaced the Honourable Senator Wells (January 7, 2016).