Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable BOB RUNCIMAN

Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016

Issue No. 14

Twenty-fourth, twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth meetings:

Study on matters pertaining to delays in Canada's criminal justice system


Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

François Bidal, Assistant Commissioner, Forensic Science and Identification Services;

Chief Superintendent Brendan Heffernan, Director General, Canadian Criminal Real Time Identification Services, Forensic Science and Identification Services;

Ron Fourney, Director, Science and Strategic Partnerships, Forensic Science and Identification Services.

Public Safety Canada:

Evan Travers, Acting Director General, Law Enforcement and Border Strategies Directorate.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples:

Kim Beaudin, National Vice-Chief;

Ron Swain, Senior Policy Advisor.

As an individual:

The Honourable Shaun Nakatsuru, Justice, Gladue Court Administrative Coordinator, Ontario Court of Justice (by video conference).

Friday, October 28, 2016

As an individual:

Vincent Langlois, Legal Researcher, Criminology Department, University of Montreal.

Montreal Police Service (SPVM):

Didier Deramond, Deputy Director, Operations Command;

Hélène Des Parois, Lawyer, Legal Services.

Crime victims assistance centre of Montreal for CAVAC Network:

Jenny Charest, Executive Director.

Quebec Bar Association:

Claudia Prémont, President of the Quebec Bar;

Sylvie Champagne, Secretary of the Bar and Director of the Legal Department.

The Young Bar of Montréal:

Sophia Rossi Lanthier, Lawyer and Director on the Board;

Adam Villeneuve, Lawyer.

As an individual:

Marie Manikis, Assistant Professor, Criminal Law, McGill University.

Association des avocats de la défense de Montréal:

Philipe Knerr, Attorney.

Association des avocats et avocates de la défense:

Mathieu Rondeau-Poissant, Lawyer, Longueuil District Representative.


The Honourable Bob Runciman, Chair

The Honourable George Baker, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Batters, Boisvenu, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Dagenais, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., McInnis, McIntyre, Plett, Sinclair, White

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)