Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable SERGE JOYAL, P.C.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018

Issue No. 37

Seventh and eighth meetings:
Bill C-46, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (offences relating to conveyances) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Canadian Bar Association:

Kathryn Pentz, Q.C., Secretary, Criminal Justice Section;

Jonathan Leebosh, Member, Immigration Law Section.

Canadian Civil Liberties Association:

Michael Bryant, Executive Director and General Counsel.

Canadian Association of Crown Counsel:

James Palangio, Crown Counsel.

Canadian Criminal Justice Association:

Howard Bebbington, Chair, Policy Review Committee;

François Boillat-Madfouny, Member of the CCJA Policy Review Committee.

Criminal Lawyers' Association:

Michael Edelson, Member and Lawyer, Edelson and Friedman LLP;

Leo Russomanno, Ottawa Director and Lawyer, Russomanno Criminal Law.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

Adam Steven Boni, Representative.

Indigenous Bar Association:

Josephine A. de Whytell, Barrister and Attorney-at-Law.

Aboriginal Legal Services:

Jonathan Rudin, Program Director.

Thursday, March 1, 2018

As individuals:

Kyla Lee, Lawyer, Acumen Law Corporation;

Sarah E. Leamon, Criminal Defence Lawyer, Acumen Law Corporation;

Sheri Arsenault;

Grace G. Pesa.

Mothers Against Drunk Driving Canada:

Andrew Murie, Chief Executive Officer.

Families for Justice:

Markitas Kaulius, Founder and President.


The Honourable Serge Joyal, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Renée Dupuis, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Batters,Boniface, Carignan, P.C., *Day (or Mercer), Eaton, Gold, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), McIntyre, Pate, Pratte, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Pate replaced the Honourable Senator Sinclair (February 27, 2018).

The Honourable Senator McIntyre replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (February 15, 2018).