Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable SERGE JOYAL, P.C.

Monday, June 3, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019

Issue No. 64

First (final) meeting:
Bill C-337, An Act to amend the Judges Act and the Criminal Code (sexual assault)

First and second meetings:
Bill C-78, An Act to amend the Divorce Act, the Family Orders and Agreements Enforcement Assistance Act and the Garnishment, Attachment and Pension Diversion Act and to make consequential amendments to another Act

(Bill C-337)


Wednesday, June 5, 2019

The Honourable David Lametti, P.C., M.P.,
Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada


Monday, June 3, 2019

The Honourable Senator A. Raynell Andreychuk, sponsor of the bill.

As individuals:

The Honourable Rona Ambrose, P.C.;

Elaine Craig, Associate Professor, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University (by video conference).

National Judicial Institute:

The Honourable C. Adèle Kent, Chief Judicial Officer.

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Department of Justice Canada:

François Daigle, Associate Deputy Minister;

Laurie Wright, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister;

Elissa Lieff, Senior General Counsel;

Claire Farid, Senior Counsel and Manager;

Andina Van Isschot, Acting Senior Counsel and Coordinator.

Canadian Bar Association:

Gaylene Schellenberg, Lawyer, Advocacy;

Melanie Del Rizzo, Chair, Family Law Section.

Barreau du Québec:

Valérie Laberge, Member of the Family Law Committee;

Nicolas Le Grand Alary, Lawyer, Secretariat of the Order and Legal Affairs.

Chambre des notaires du Québec:

Serge Bernier, Vice President;

Antoine Fafard, Notary, Legal Services and Institutional Relations.

Ontario Chapter of the Association of Family and Conciliation Courts:

Nicholas Bala, Professor, Faculty of Law, Queen's University.

As an individual:

Linda C. Neilson, Professor Emerita, University of New Brunswick (by video conference).


The Honourable Serge Joyal, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Renée Dupuis, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Batters, Boniface, Carignan, P.C., Dalphond, *Day (or Mercer), Dyck, Gold, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Lankin, P.C., McIntyre, Pratte, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Carignan, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (June 5, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos (June 5, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator Carignan, P.C. (June 5, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Busson (June 4, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Busson replaced the Honourable Senator Gold (June 3, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Kutcher (May 31, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Pratte replaced the Honourable Senator Moodie (May 31, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Dupuis replaced the Honourable Senator Pate (May 31, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Boisvenu replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (May 30, 2019).