Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Special Senate Committee on

Issue 7 - Minutes of Proceedings

OTTAWA, Monday, October 4, 2010


The Special Senate Committee on Anti-terrorism met at 1:00 p.m. this day, in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Hugh Segal, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Furey, Joyal, P.C., Marshall, Mitchell, Segal, Smith, P.C., Tkachuk and Wallin (8).

In attendance: Dominique Valiquet and Cynthia Kirkby, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, May 27, 2010, the committee continued its examination on matters relating to anti-terrorism. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 1.)


As individuals:

Guillermo R. Aureano, Internship Coordinator, Department of Political Science, University of Montreal, Associate Researcher, CIPSS;

Stéphane Leman-Langlois, Professor, Laval University, Director, Terrorism and Counterterrorism Research Group.

Al Sunnah Foundation:

Sayyid Ahmed Amiruddin, Chairman.

The chair made an opening statement.

Mr. Aureano and Mr. Leman-Langlois each made a statement and answered questions.

At 2:25 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 2:30 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Amiruddin made a statement and answered questions.

At 3:17 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:19 p.m., the comittee resumed.

Pursuant to rule 92(2)(e), the committee proceeded in camera to consider a draft agenda.

At 3:22 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Barbara Reynolds

Clerk of the Committee