Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16


Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016

Issue No. 8

Thirteenth meeting:

Study on the issue of dementia in our society


First meeting:

The subject matter of those elements contained in Division 12 of Part 4 of Bill C-15, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2016 and other measures


Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Ontario Dementia Advisory Group (ODAG):

Mary Beth Wighton, Board Member (by video conference);

Bill Heibein, Board Member;

Phyllis Fehr, Board Member;

Bea Kraayenhof, Board Member.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Caledon Institute of Social Policy:

Michael Mendelson, Senior Scholar.

As an individual:

Trevor Tombe, Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, University of Calgary.

Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC):

Annette Ryan, Director General, Employment Insurance Policy, Skills and Employment Branch;

Janique Venne, Director, Policy Analysis and Initiatives, Skills and Employment Branch.

Canada Employment Insurance Commission (CEIC):

Judith Andrew, Commissioner (Employers);

Charles Côté, Advisor of the Commissioner (Employers).


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Demers, Frum, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Merchant, Nancy Ruth, Raine, Seidman, Stewart Olsen

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Munson was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (May 12, 2016).

Back to top