Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Tuesday, May 26, 1998

Issue No. 8

Fifth meeting on:

Bill C-6, Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act


From the Sahtu Secretariat Inc. (by vidéoconference):

Ms Ruby L. McDonald, Chairperson;

Mr. Gordon Yakeleya, Grand Chief, Sahtu Dene Council; and

Mr. Rick Hardy, Legal Counsel.

From the Northwest Territories Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs (by vidéoconference):

Mr. Fred Koe, Deputy Minister; and

Mr. Peter Bannon, Director, Policy and coordination.

From the Gwich'in Tribal Council:

Mr. Richard Nerysoo, President; and

Mr. Brian A. Crane, QC, Legal Counsel.

From the Mikisew Cree Nation:

Mr. Ian Taylor, Director of Economic Development; and

Ms Rita Martin, Councillor.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chairman

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, Beaudoin, Berntson, Chalifoux, Forest, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Pearson, St. Germain, P.C., Taylor

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top