Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chairman: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Tuesday, February 2, 1999 (9:00 a.m.)
Tuesday February 2, 1999 (6:15 p.m.)
Wednesday February 3, 1999

Issue No. 17

Public hearings on aboriginal self-government


For the meeting of February 2, 1999 at 9:00 a.m.

From the Council of Mamuitun:

Rémy "Kak'wa" Kurtness, Chief Negotiator;

Chief René Simon;

Chief Denis Ross;

Chief Clifford Moar.

From the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples (Saskatchewan):

Jim Sinclair, President;

Jake Falcon, Board Member.

Treaty 4 Representatives:

Mr. Ron Crowe, Treaty 4;

Mr. Tony Côté, Treaty 4.

For the meeting of February 2, 1999 at 6:15 p.m.

From the Akaitcho Territory Tribal Council:

Chief Jonas Sangris, Yellowknives Dene (Dettah);

Chief Don Balsillie, Deninu K'ue;

Sharon H. Venne, Chief Negotiator.

From the Bank of Montreal:

Mr. Ron Jamieson, Senior Vice-President.

For the meeting of February 3, 1999

From the O.I. Group of Companies:

Mr. Roger Obonsawin, President.

From the Aboriginal Women's Council:

Ms Leonie Rivers, Acting Administrator;

Ms Lynne Widdows, Technician, Sko'mish.

From the Nunavut Implementation Commission:

Mr. John Amagoalik, Chief Commissioner.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chairman

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Berntson, Chalifoux, Gill, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Mahovlich, Pearson, St. Germain, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top