Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Tuesday, May 4, 1999
Wednesday, May 5, 1999

Issue No. 28

Fifth and sixth meetings on: Bill C-49, the First Nation Land Management Act
Twenty-fourth meeting on: Aboriginal self-government


Tuesday, May 4, 1999:

Morning sitting, on aboriginal self-government:

From the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation:

Nellie J. Cournoyea, Chair and Chief Executive Officer;

Richard Nerysoo, President, Gwich'in Tribal Council;

Bob Simpson, Chief Negotiator, Beaufort/Delta Self-Government (negotiating) Office;

Charles Hunter, Legal Advisor.

From the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations:

Grand Chief Perry Bellegarde;

Chief Tom Littlespruce;

Chief Delbert Wapass;

Chief Miller Nawakayas.

Afternoon sitting, on Bill C-49:

As individuals:

Wendy Lockhart Lundberg;

Velma Baker.

From the Lower Mainland Treaty Advisory Committee (LMTAC):

Nancy Chiavario, Chairman;

David Didluck, Executive Director;

Vicky Huntington, Councillor;

Mayor Don Bell.

From the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM):

Mayor John Les.

From Lynnwood Industrial Estates Ltd:

Lou Blair, Director;

Murray Clemens, Legal Counsel.

Wednesday, May 5, 1999, on Bill C-49:

From Musqueam Park Leaseholders Parcel "A":

Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Q.C.

From the District of West Nipissing:

Mayor Gary O'Connor;

Joan McLeod, Land Manager, Nipissing No. 10 Reserve.

From the Interim Lands Advisory Board:

Robert Louie, Chair;

Chief Austin Bear, Muskoday First Nation;

Chief William McCue, Georginia Island First Nation;

Chief Joe Mathias, Squamish First Nation;

Chief Bill Williams, Squamish First Nation;

Councillor Harold Calla, Squamish First Nation;

Mr. Bill Henderson, Legal Counsel.


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Chalifoux, Cochrane, Gill, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Pearson, St. Germain, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Mahovlich removed, substitution pending (May 3, 1999).

Back to top