Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable CHARLIE WATT

Wednesday, June 2, 1999

Issue No. 30

Twenty-fifth meeting on: Aboriginal self-government


From the Conseil de la nation Atikamekw:

Mr. Ernest Awashish, President;

Mr. Marc Dubé, Chief Negotiator.

From the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake:

Grand Chief Joseph "Tokwiro" Norton;

Frank Vieni, General Negotiator;

Arnold Goodleaf, Director, Intergovernmental Relations Team (IRT).


The Honourable Charlie Watt, Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Andreychuk, Austin, P.C., Chalifoux, Comeau, Gill, *Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Pearson, St. Germain, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Comeau was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (June 2, 1999).

The name of the Honourable Senator Pépin was removed, substitution pending (June 1, 1999).

The name of the Honourable Senator Ghitter was removed, substitution pending ( June 1, 1999).

Back to top