Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LEONARD J. GUSTAFSON

Tuesday, March 31, 1998

Issue No. 8

Ninth and tenth meetings on: Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Canadian Wheat Board Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


Morning sitting

From the Alberta Pro-Canadian Wheat Board Group:

Mr. Ken Larsen; and

Mr. Steven C. Bothi.

From the Western Barley Growers' Association:

Mr. Doug Robertson; and

Mr. Greg Rockafellow, President.

From the Prairie Centre for Prairie Agriculture Inc.:

Mr. Tim Ness; and

Mr. Craig Docksteader.

Panel of Individuals:

Mr. Ike Lanier; and

Mr. Brian Otto.

From the Alberta Barley Commission:

Mr. Brian Kriz, Chair; and

Mr. Glen Logan, Vice-Chair.

Afternoon sitting

Panel of Individuals:

Mr. Russell E. Smith;

Mr. Richard Strankman;

Mr. John Ross;

Mr. Ken Sackett; and

Mr. Stan Bell.

Panel of Individuals:

Mr. Buck Spencer;

Mr. Don Young;

Mr. Jim Miller;

Mr. Shane Hertz; and

Mr. Glenn Sawyer.

Panel of Individuals:

Mr. Murray Woods;

Mr. Russell Barrows;

Mr. Colleen Bianchi;

Ms Alanna Hermanson; and

Mr. Bert Bystrom.

Panel of Individuals:

Mr. Frank Hugo; and

Mr. Norman Christensen.


The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Chairman

The Honourable Eugene Whelan, P.C., Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Chalifoux, Fairbairn, *Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Hays, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Robichaud, P.C. (Saint-Louis-de-Kent), St. Germain, P.C., Spivak, Stratton, Taylor

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator St. Germain substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Rivest (March 31, 1998).

Back to top