Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LEONARD J. GUSTAFSON

Thursday, April 2, 1998

Issue No. 10

Thirteenth and fourteenth meetings on: Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Canadian Wheat Board Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


The Honourable Harry J. Enns, M.L.A., Minister of Agriculture, Government of Manitoba


Morning sitting

Panel of Individuals:

Mr. Carl Ostberg;

Mr. Alan Kennedy;

Mr. Bill Uruski; and

Mr. David Suderman.

From Keystone Agriculture Producers:

Mr. Don Dewar, President.

From the Manitoba Wheat Pool:

Mr. Charlie Swanson, President; and

Anders Bruun.

From The National Farmers' Union (Manitoba Region):

Mr. Fred Tait, Director.

From the United Grain Growers:

Mr. Ted Allen, President.

Afternoon sitting

From Farmers for Justice:

Mr. Alex McWilliams.

From Winnipeg Commodities Exchange:

Mr. Bennett Corn, President and Chief Executive Officer.

From the Manitoba Canola Growers' Association:

Mr. Jonathan Roskos, President.

From the Canadian Canola Growers' Association:

Mr. Bruce Dalgarno, President; and

Mr. Eric Sirski, Director.

From the Coalition Against C-4:

Mr. Kevin Archibald; and

Mr. Dan Kelly.

From Concerned Farmers Saving the Wheat Board:

Mr. Bill Toews, Chair; and

Mr. Keith Ryan.

From the Canadian Oilseed Processors' Association:

Mr. Robert Broeska, President.

Panel of Individuals:

Mr. Kenneth Sigurdson;

Mr. Edward A. Cook;

Ms Lois Edie;

Ms Carol Masse;

Mr. Andy Baker; and

Mr. Brad Mroz.


The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Chairman

The Honourable Eugene Whelan, P.C., Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Chalifoux, Fairbairn, P.C., *Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Hays, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting),

Robichaud, P.C. (Saint-Louis-de-Kent), Rossiter, St. Germain, P.C., Spivak, Stratton, Taylor

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)