Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on

Agriculture and Forestry

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LEONARD J. GUSTAFSON

Monday, December 7, 1998

Issue No. 27

Sixth meeting on: Recombinant Bovine Growth Hormone (rBST) and its effects on human and animal health safety


Morning sitting

From Vermont Public Interest Research Group:

Mr. Anthony Pollina, Senior Policy Advisor.

From Rural Vermont:

Mrs. Jenny Nelson, Director and Diary Farmer.

From Consumers Union, Consumer Policy Institute:

Dr. Michael Hansen, Ph.D., Research Associate.

From Health Canada:

Dr. Joseph Losos, Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Protection Branch;

Dr. George Paterson, Director General, Foods Directorate;

Dr. Ian Alexander; and

Mr. Joel Weiner, Acting Director General, Policy, Planning and Coordination Directorate.

Afternoon sitting

From Monsanto:

Mr. Ray Mowling, Vice President, Government and Public Affairs; and

Dr. David Kowalczyk, Director, Regulatory Affairs.

From Kooistra Farms (Illinois):

Ms Linnea Kooistra.

From Cave Creek Jerseys (Wisconsin):

Dr. Michelle Wieghart, Ph.D.

From St. Mary's Veterinary Clinic (Ontario):

Dr. Robert Bell.

From Canadian Animal Health Institute:

Ms Jean Szkotnicki, President.

From Canadian Health Coalition:

Ms Kathleen Connors, RN, Chairperson, Canadian Health Coalition, President, National Federation of Nurses Union;

Dr. Michèle Brill-Edwards, MD, Alliance for Public Accountability; and

Mr. Michael McBane, National Co-ordinator.

From Toronto Food Policy Council:

Mr. Victor Daniel, Co-Chairman.

As an individual:

Ms Ann Oaks, Ph.D., Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.


The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Chairman

The Honourable Eugene Whelan, P.C., Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Chalifoux, Fairbairn, P.C., * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Hays, Johnson, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Rivest, Robichaud, P.C. (Saint-Louis-de-Kent ), Rossiter, Sparrow, Spivak, Taylor.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)