Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997

Chairman: The Honourable RON GHITTER

Tuesday, November 18, 1997

Issue No. 2

Second meeting on: Examination of such issues as may arise from time to time relating to energy, the environment and natural resources generally in Canada (Pre-Kyoto Hearings)


From Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Dr. Henry Janzen, GHG/C Sequestration Researcher, Lethbridge Research Centre;

Dr. Raymond L. Desjardins, Research Scientist, Micrometeorology.

From the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP):

David J. Manning, Q.C., President;

Chris Peirce, Vice-President.


The Honourable Ronald D. Ghitter, Chairman

The Honourable Nicholas W. Taylor, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Buchanan, P.C., Butts, Cochrane, Gigantès, *Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Hays, Kirby, *Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Rompkey, P.C., Spivak, St. Germain, P.C.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Gigantès substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Stanbury (November 18, 1997).

The name of the Honourable Senator Adams substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Watt (October 27, 1997).