Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable RONALD D. GHITTER

Tuesday, February 17, 1998 Wednesday, February 18, 1998

Issue No. 5

Second meeting on: Bill S-6, An Act to establish a National Historic Park to commemorate the "Persons Case".

Future business of the committee


From the National Capital Commission:

Marcel Beaudry, Chairman.

From the City of Ottawa:

Stéphane Émard-Chabot, Municipal Councillor, Ward Bruyère-Strathcona;

Richard Cannings, Municipal Councillor, Ward Rideau.

From the Famous 5 Foundation:

Frances Wright, President and CEO;

Lynn Webster, Director of the Famous 5 Foundation and Co-Chair of the Monument Committee;

The Honourable Colin Kenny, Senator;

The Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, Senator.


The Honourable Ronald D. Ghitter, Chairman

The Honourable Nicholas W. Taylor, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Buchanan, P.C., Butts, DeWare, Gigantès, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Hays, Kenny, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Rompkey, P.C., St. Germain, P.C., Spivak

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the Committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator DeWare substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Cochrane (February 17, 1998).