Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chairman: The Honourable RONALD D. GHITTER

Thursday, August 26, 1999
Friday, August 27, 1999

Issue No. 21

Seventh, eighth and ninth meetings on:
Bill C-32, An Act respecting pollution and the protection of the environment and human health in order to contribute to sustainable development


Thursday, August 26, 1999 -- Morning Meeting:

From the Canadian Chemical Producers' Association:

Claude-André Lachance, Director, Governmental Affairs, Dow Chemical Canada;

Gordon E. Lloyd, Vice-President, Technical Affairs, Canadian Chemical Producers' Association;

Richard Paton, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Chemical Producers' Association;

Jack Soule, Senior Research Scientist, DuPont Canada.

From the Mining Association of Canada:

Wayne Fraser, Chair, Environment Committee, Mining Association of Canada and Director, Environment and Plant Engineering, Hudson Bay Mining and Smelting Company;

Robert Telewiak, Chair, Mining Association of Canada Metals Working Group, and Vice-President, Environment, Falconbridge Limited;

David Rodier, Senior Vice-President, Environment, Safety, and Health, Noranda, Inc.;

Justyna Laurie-Lean, Vice-President, Environment and Health.

Thursday, August 26, 1999 -- Afternoon Meeting:

From the Canadian Environmental Law Association:

Paul Muldoon, Executive Director.

From the World Wildlife Fund Canada:

Craig Boljkovac, Policy Officer, Wildlife Toxicology Programme.

From the Sierra Club of Canada:

Elizabeth May, Executive Director;

Angela Rickman, Deputy Director.

From the Western Canada Wilderness Committee:

Adriane Carr, Director;

Paul George, Director.

Friday, August 27, 1999:

As an Individual:

Professor William Leiss, FRSC, Faculty of Management, University of Calgary, and President Elect, Royal Society of Canada.

From the Office of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, Department of the Environment:

Nadine Levin, Analyst.

From the Inuit Tapirisat:

Sheila Watt-Cloutier, Vice-President;

Scot Nickels, Advisor;

Terry Fenge, Advisor;

Stephanie Meakin, Advisor.

From the Métis National Council:

Bob Stevenson, Advisor, Endangered Species and Harvesting;

Jody Pierce, Métis Provincial Council of British Columbia.

From Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak, Inc.:

Michael Anderson, Research Director.


The Honourable Ronald D. Ghitter, Chairman

The Honourable Nicholas W. Taylor, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Buchanan, P.C., Chalifoux, Cochrane, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Hays, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Kenny, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Nolin, Robichaud, P.C. (Saint-Louis-de-Kent), Spivak

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Fraser substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Hervieux-Payette (August 26, 1999).

The name of the Honourable Senator Hervieux-Payette substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Fraser (August 27, 1999).

Back to top