Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LORNA MILNE

Wednesday, October 21, 1998

Issue No. 36

Fifth meeting on: Bill C-37, An Act to amend the Judges Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


On Bill C-37

From the Department of Justice:

Mr. Morris Rosenberg, Deputy Minsiter and Deputy Attorney General;

Ms Judith Bellis, Senior Counsel, head Judicial Affairs Unit;

Mr. Ian Mackenzie, Counsel, Judicial Affairs Unit.


The Honourable Lorna Milne, Chairman

The Honourable Pierre Claude Nolin, Acting Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Balfour, Beaudoin, Bryden, Buchanan, P.C., Eyton, Fraser, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs) Joyal, P.C., * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Moore, Pépin

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Bryden was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Rompkey (October 20, 1998).

The name of the Honourable Senator Pépin was added (October 20, 1998 ).