Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98

Chairman: The Honourable LISE BACON

Monday, April 27, 1998

Issue No. 12

Second meeting on: Examination of Bill C-9, Canada Marine Act


From the Toronto Harbour Commissioners:

Mr. Harold Peerenboom, Chairman;

Mr. Charles Parmelee, Vice-Chairman;

Mr. Gary F. Reid, General Manager;

Mr. Bill Jackman, Corporate Secretary;

Mr. Howard Joy, Commissioner;

Mr. Steve Ellis, Commissioner; and

Mr. Michael Walker, Commissioner.

From the Toronto City Council:

Mr. Tom Jakobek, Councillor.

From CAW Canada Seaway Workers:

Mr. Gary Fane, National Director of Transportation of the CAW;

Mr. Joel Fournier, President of CAW Local 4212; and

Mr. Vince Hearn, Chairman, CAW Local 4212.

From the Chamber of Maritime Commerce:

Mr. Doug Smith, President.

From the Canadian Shipowners Association:

Mr. Donald N. Morrison, President.


The Honourable Lise Bacon, Chairman

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Bryden, Buchanan, P.C., * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Johnson, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella (acting)), Milne, Perrault, P.C., Poulin, Roberge, Rompkey, P.C., Spivak.

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to Rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Milne substituted for that of the Honourable Senator De Bané (April 27, 1998).

The name of the Honourable Senator Perrault substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Johnstone (April 27, 1998).

Back to top