Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

First Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1997-98-99

Chair: The Honourable MARIE-P. (CHARETTE) POULIN

Tuesday, April 20, 1999

Issue No. 23

Second meeting on: Bill C-55, An Act respecting advertising services supplied by foreign periodical publishers


From the Canadian Business Press:

Terry Malden, Chairman of Canadian Business Press; Executive Vice-President of Maclean Hunter Publishing;

Michael Doody, Action Communications Inc.;

Anne McCaskill, President of McCaskill Consulting Inc., Trade Advisor to Canadian Business Press.

From Reader's Digest Canada:

Paul M. Lalonde, Lawyer, Flavell, Kubrick & Lalonde;

Barbara Robbins, Vice-President, Legal Affairs;

Bernard Poirier, President and Chief Executive Officer, Sélection du Reader's Digest.


The Honourable Marie-P. (Charette) Poulin, Chair

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Buchanan, P.C., Callbeck, Fitzpatrick, * Graham, P.C. (or Carstairs), Johnson, Joyal, P.C., * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Maheu, Roberge, Rompkey, P.C., Spivak

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Rompkey substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Perrault (April 19, 1999).

The name of the Honourable Senator Callbeck substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Bacon (April 20, 1999).

Back to top