Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Second Session Thirty-sixth Parliament, 1999

Chairman: The Honourable LISE BACON

Wednesday, October 27, 1999

Issue No. 2

Second meeting on: The order in council authorizing certain major air carriers and persons to negotiate and enter into any conditional agreement


From the Consumer Association of Canada:

Gail Lacombe, President;

Jennifer Hillard, Vice-President, Issues and Policy.

From the Air Transport Association of Canada:

Cliff Mackay, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Les Aalders, Vice-President, Engineering and Maintenance.

From the Air Line Pilots Association, International:

Captain Michael Lynch, President, Canada Board;

Captain Steve Linthwaite, Master Executive Council Chairman, Air Ontario;

Captain Bruce McConchie, Master Executive Council Chairman, Canadian Airlines.

From Transport 2000:

Harry Gow, President;

Michael Janigan, Executive Director, Public Interest, Advocacy Centre;

Andrew Reddick, Director of Research;

Peter Bleyer, Executive Director, The Council of Canadians;

David L. Jeanes, Canadian Association of Airline passengers.

From the Competition Bureau (Industry Canada):

Konrad von Finckenstein, Commissioner of Competition;

Raymond Pierce, Deputy Commissioner of Competition;

Richard Annan, Commerce Officer;

Richard Elliott, Commerce Officer.


The Honourable Lise Bacon, Chairman

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Deputy Chairman


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, * Boudreau, P.C. (or Hays), Fairbairn, P.C., Johnson, Kirby, LeBreton, Losier-Cool, * Lynch-Staunton (or Kinsella), Maheu, Poulin, Roberge, Spivak

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Fairbairn substituted for that of the Honourable Senator De Bané (October 27, 1999).

Back to top