Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Third Session Thirty-seventh Parliament, 2004

Chair: The Honourable DONALD H. OLIVER

Tuesday, February 24, 2004
Thursday, February 26, 2004

Issue No. 2

Second and third meetings on:
Present state and the future of agriculture and forestry in Canada


Tuesday, February 24, 2004:

From Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Mr. Andrew Marsland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Market and Industry Services Branch;

Mr. Tom Richardson, A/Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch;

Mr. Gilles Lavoie, Senior Director General, Operations, Market and Industry Services Branch.

From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Mr. Robert Carberry, Vice-President, Programs;

Mr. Brian Evans, Chief Veterinarian Officer for Canada.

Thursday, February 26, 2004:

From the Canadian Meat Council:

Mr. Jim Laws, Executive Director.


The Honourable Donald H. Oliver, Chair

The Honourable Joyce Fairbairn, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Callbeck, Fairbairn, P.C., Gustafson, Hubley, LaPierre, Lawson, *Lynch-Staunton, (or Kinsella), Mercer, Oliver, Ringuette, St. Germain, P.C., Sparrow, Tkachuk

* Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Lawson substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Day (February 25, 2004).