Skip to content

The Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence

Fact-finding Visit to Washington D.C.

March 22 to 25, 2004

The Honourable Colin Kenny, Senator, Chair
(Liberal – Ontario) 

The Honourable J. Michael Forrestall, Senator, Deputy Chair
(Conservative – Nova Scotia) 

The Honourable Norman Atkins
(Progressive Conservative – Ontario) 

The Honourable James Munson
(Liberal – Ontario)


From Committee Secretariat
Mrs. Barbara Reynolds, Committee Clerk
Major General (ret’d) Keith McDonald, Senior Military Adviser
Dr. Grant Dawson, Researcher, Library of Parliament
Ms Veronica Morris, Media Relations Officer 

From Department of National Defence
Commander Gerry Powell, Liaison Officer to the Committee  

From Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Superintendent Gerald Doucet, Liaison Officer to the Committee 


Sunday, March 21, 2004 

 6:30 – 7:30 p.m. Informal meeting of Committee



Monday, March 22, 2004 

 7:30 – 8:30 a.m. Mr. Michael F. Kergin, Canadian Ambassador to the United States


 9:00 – 10:00 a.m. The Honorable Tom Ridge, Secretary of Homeland Security 

The Honorable Crescencio Arcos
Director, Office of International Affairs, Department of Homeland Affairs 

Mr. Mitchell Optican
Policy Advisor
Office of International Affairs, Department of Homeland Affairs


10:30 – 11:30 a.m. Officials from Homeland Security Council (HSC) and National Security Council (NSC) 

General John Gordon, Assistant to the President for Homeland Security (HSC)

Dr. Richard A. Falkenrath, Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy Homeland Security Advisor (HSC)

Admiral D. Brian Peterman, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director, Border and Transportation Security (HSC)

Mr. Joel Bagnal, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director, Domestic Counterterrorism (HSC)

Mr. Paul Nicolas, (Acting) Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director, Critical Infrastructure Protection (HSC)

Mr. Michael Allen, Special Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs (HSC)

Ms Lisa Bobbie Schreiber Hughes, Director for Consular and International Programs (HSC)

Mr. Jon Spaner, Director for Cargo and Port Security (HSC)

Mr. Edward McNally, Senior Associate Counsel to the President and General Counsel for HSC



 1:00 p.m. Mr. Christopher Sands, Senior Associate, Americas Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) – Head of the CSIS Smart Border Working Group  

Mr. Andre Belelieu, Research Assistant, CSIS 


 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. Mr. Asa Hutchinson, Under Secretary for Border and Transportation Security 

Mr. Brad Kidwell
Assistant to Director of Operations, Border & Transportation Security, Department of Homeland Security 

Mr. Larry Mizell
Senior Adviser, Border & Transportation Security, Department of Homeland Security 


Tuesday, March 23, 2004 

 7:30 – 8:30 a.m. Dr. Stephen E. Flynn, Jeane J. Kirkpatrick Senior Fellow in National Security Studies, Council on Foreign Relations  

Mr. Dan Dolgin, Research Assistant


 9:00 – 9:30 a.m. Mr. Robert C. Bonner, Commissioner, U.S. Bureau of Customs and Border Protection, Department of Homeland Security 

Mr. Michael T. Schmitz
Assistant Commissioner, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Department of Homeland Security 

Mr. Brian C. Goebel
Counselor and Senior Policy Advisor, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Department of Homeland Security 

10:30 – 12:30 Mr. Chris Willcox, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defence for Public Affairs 

Mr. T.K. Kuster, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defence for Force Policy and Employment 

Major General (Select) Marc Rogers, the JFCOM J-8 

Mr. Barry Pavel, Principal Director for Strategy,  

Dr. Mark Schneider, Principal Director for Forces Policy,  

Dr. Peppi DeBiaso, Director, Office of Defence Policy, Office of the Secretary of Defence,  


1:00 p.m. Mr. David Frum, Resident Fellow, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research

Wednesday, March 24, 2004 

12:15 – 12:45 p.m. Senator Pat Roberts, (Republican – Kansas) Chair, Senate Select Committee on Intelligence  


2:00 – 3:00 p.m. The Honourable Bart Stupak (Democrat – Michigan), Co-Chair, Congressional Northern Border Caucus
 3:30 – 4:15 p.m. Senator John McCain, (Republican – Arizona), Chair, Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation
 4:30 p.m. Admiral Thomas H. Collins, Commandant, US Coast Guard 

Rear Admiral Patrick M. Stillman, Program Executive Officer, Integrated Deepwater System 

Rear Admiral Larry Hereth, Director of Port Security, Marine Safety, Security and Environmental Protection Directorate 

Rear Admiral James C. Olson, Director of Operations Capability, 

Mr. Gerald P. Yoest, Director, International Affairs 


Thursday, March 25, 2004 

 7:00 – 7:45 a.m. The Honorable Duncan Hunter (Republican – California), Chairman, House Armed Services Committee 
 8:00 – 9:00 a.m. The Honorable James Sensenbrenner Jr., (Republican – Wisconsin); Chair, House Judiciary Committee; Rep. John N. Hostettler (Republican – Indiana), Chair, Subcommittee on Immigration, Border Security and Crime 
11:00 a.m. Senator Thad Cochran (Republican-Mississippi) Chairman, Subcommittee on Homeland Security, Senate Appropriations Committee 


12:45 p.m. General Ralph E. Eberhart, Commander NORAD and Commander US Northern Command

Ms. Nanette Nadeau, Research Assistant


 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. Meeting with House Intelligence Committee 

The Honorable Porter J. Goss, Chair (Republican – Florida) 

The Honorable Jane Harman (Democrat – California) Ranking Member 

The Honorable Peter Hoeskstra (Republican – Michigan) 

The Honorable Terry Everett (Republican – Alabama) 

The Honorable Alcee Hastings (Democrat – Florida) 

The Honorable Dutch Ruppersberger (Democrat – Maryland) 

The Honorable Robert Craemer (Democrat  - Alabama) 

The Honorable Collin Peterson (Democrat – Minnesota)


 3:30 – 5:00 p.m. The Honorable Michael Brown, Under Secretary of Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security 

Mr.Reynold Hoover
Director, Office of National Security Coordination 

Colonel Brian Montgomery, US Army
Military Support Liaison Officer 

Mr. Joshua Batkin
Director, Office of International Affairs 

Mr. LaVelle M. Foley
International Relations Officer (Canada)


Back to top