Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable JERAHMIEL S. GRAFSTEIN

Wednesday, October 19, 2005
Thursday, October 20, 2005

Issue No. 17

First and second meetings on:

The demographic change that will occur in Canada within the next two decades


Wednesday, October 19, 2005

Department of Finance Canada:

Benoît Robidoux, Director, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch, Economic Studies and Policy Analysis Division.

Statistics Canada:

Pamela White, Director, Demography Division;

Alain Bélanger, Coordinator, Research and Analysis, Demography Division.

Policy Research Initiative:

Terrance Hunsley, Senior Project Director;

Alain Denhez, Associate Project Director.

The Conference Board of Canada:

Paul Darby, Deputy Chief Economist.

C.D. Howe Institute:

William B.P. Robson, Senior Vice-President and Director of Research.

Canadian Federation of Independent Business:

Richard Fahey, Vice-President, Québec;

Rob Taylor, Senior Policy Analyst, National Affairs.

Thursday, October 20, 2005

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions:

Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development:

Steven Tobin, Economist, Directorate for Employment, Labour and Social Affairs, Employment Analysis and Policy Division.

New America Foundation:

Phillip Longman, Bernard L. Schwartz Senior Fellow.

As individuals:

Robert L. Brown, Director, Institute of Insurance & Pension Research and Professor, Department of Statistics & Actuarial Science, University of Waterloo.

Jacques Henripin, Professor Emeritus, University of Montréal.


The Honourable Jerahmiel S. Grafstein, Chair

The Honourable W. David Angus, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Austin, P.C., (or Rompkey, P.C.), Biron, Fitzpatrick, Harb, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Massicotte, *Kinsella, (or Stratton), Meighen, Moore, Oliver, Plamondon, Tkachuk

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4) membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Massicotte substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Goldstein (September 29, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Kelleher, P.C., retired (October 2, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Tkachuk substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Oliver (October 4, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Oliver added (October 6, 2005).

Back to top