Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable TOMMY BANKS

Thursday, April 14, 2005
Tuesday, April 19, 2005
Thursday, April 21, 2005

Issue No. 12

Fifth, sixth and seventh meetings on:

Bill C-15, An Act to amend the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and the Canadian Environment Protection Act, 1999



Tuesday, April 19, 2005

The Honourable Tom Osborne, Minister of Environment and Conservation, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador.


Thursday, April 14, 2005

As a Panel:

Canadian Maritime Law Association:

Peter J. Cullen, President;

John G. O'Connor, Chair, Marine Environment and Pollution Subcommittee.

Canadian Merchant Service Guild:

Lawrence Dempsey, National President.


Ladi Pathy, President;

John Weale, Senior Vice President, Risk Management.

The Shipping Federation of Canada:

Michael Broad, President.

As an individual:

William O'Neil, Former Head of the International Maritime Organization.

Tuesday, April 19, 2005

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador:

John Drover, Director, Policy and Planning, Department of Environment and Conservation.

Sierra Club of Canada:

Elizabeth May, Executive Director.

Canadian Wildlife Federation:

Sandy Baumgartner, Executive Director, Programs and Communications;

Leigh Edgar, Conservation Researcher.

Thursday, April 21, 2005

St. Lawrence Economic Development Council:

Guy Véronneau, President;

Marc Gagnon, Executive Director.

Ducks Unlimited Canada:

Barry Turner, Director of Government Relations;

Mark Gloutney, Manager Provincial Operations.

Sierra Legal Defence Fund:

Margot Venton, Lawyer.


The Honourable Tommy Banks, Chair

The Honourable Ethel Cochrane, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Angus, *Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Buchanan, P.C., Christensen, Gustafson, Hubley, Kenny, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Lavigne, Milne, Spivak

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Angus substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Oliver (April 5, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Gustafson substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Forrestall (April 5, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Fraser substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Hubley (April 13, 2005).

The name of the Honourable Senator Hubley substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Fraser (April 14, 2005).