Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable GERALD J. COMEAU

Thursday, September 29, 2005 (in camera)
Thursday, October 20, 2005
Monday, October 24, 2005

Issue No. 9

Twenty-first, twenty-second, twenty-third and twenty-fourth meetings on:

Issues relating to the federal government's new and evolving policy framework for managing Canada's fisheries and oceans


Thursday, October 20, 2005:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada:

Paul Sprout, Regional Director General, Pacific Region;

Kevin Stringer, Director General, Resource Management.

Monday, October 24, 2005 — Morning meeting

EcoTrust Canada:

Eric Enno Tamm, Communications Manager;

Danielle Edwards, Independent Fisheries Consultant, and co-author of report ``Catch- 22: Conservation, Communities and the Privatization of B.C. Fisheries''.

David Suzuki Foundation:

Bill Wareham, Acting Director, Marine Conservation Program;

Jay Ritchlin, Campaigner, Marine Conservation Program;

Otto Langer, Director on Leave, Marine Conservation Program;

David Peterson, Devon Knight Events.

United Fishermen and Allied Workers' Union:

Irvine Figg, President;

Garth Mirau, Vice-President.

West Coast Trollers Association:

Kathy Scarfo, President.

Monday, October 24, 2005 — Afternoon meeting

Sport Fishing Institute of British Columbia:

Marilyn Murphy, Executive Director;

Paul Rickard, Co-Chair, Tidal Waters Fisheries Committee, B.C. Wildlife Federation.

Sport Fishing Advisory Board:

John Brockley, Past Chairman;

Clifford G. Proudfoot, Legal Counsel.

As an individual:

Evelyn Pinkerton, Associate Professor, School of Resource and Environmental Management, Simon Fraser University.

British Columbia Seafood Alliance:

Michelle James, Past President;

Bruce Turris, Executive Director, Canadian Groundfish Conservation and Research Society;

Brian Mose, Director, Deep Sea Trawlers Association;

Alan Williams, Principal, Fisher Bay Seafood Ltd.


The Honourable Gerald J. Comeau, Chair

The Honourable Elizabeth Hubley, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, *Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Cowan, Johnson, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Mahovlich, Meighen, Merchant, Phalen, St. Germain, P.C., Watt

*Ex Officio Members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top