Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs

First Session, Thirty-eighth Parliament, 2004-05

Chair: The Honourable PETER A. STOLLERY

Tuesday, February 15, 2005
Wednesday, February 16, 2005

Issue No. 7

Sixth and seventh meetings on:

Special study on Africa


Tuesday, February 15, 2005

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa:

K.Y. Amoako, Executive Secretary and United Nations Under-Secretary-General.

International Trade Canada:

Alexandra Wood, Deputy Director and Trade Commissioner, International Financing Division, Business Support Unit.

Department of Finance Canada:

Bruce Rayfuse, Director, International Finance and Development Division;

John Davies, Chief, Development Policy.

Wednesday, February 16, 2005

Foreign Affairs Canada:

Anne-Marie Bourcier, Director General, Africa Bureau;

Perry Calderwood, Director, Eastern and Southern Africa Division;

Isabelle Roy, Acting Director, West and Centre Africa Division;

Sébastien Carrière, Desk Officer, Political Affairs (Algeria, Libya, Morocco), Maghreb and Arabian Peninsula Division.

Canadian International Development Agency:

Nadia Kostiuk, Director General, Policy, Strategic Planning and Technical Services, Africa and Middle East Branch;

Mario Renaud, Director General, Policy, Planning and Management, Multilateral Programs Branch, Canadian International Level.

National Defence:

Andrew Rasiulis, Director, Military Training Assistance Program.


The Honourable Peter A. Stollery, Chair

The Honourable Consiglio Di Nino, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, *Austin, P.C. (or Rompkey, P.C.), Carney, P.C., Corbin, De Bané, P.C., Downe, Eyton, Grafstein, *Kinsella (or Stratton), Mahovlich, Prud'homme, P.C., Robichaud, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)