Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL KIRBY

Friday, September 22, 2006
Thursday, October 5, 2006 (in camera)

Issue No. 5

Meeting to publicize the findings of the Committee's report on issues concerning mental health and mental illness

(Round Table format discussion on the Knowledge Exchange Centre)


Future business of the committee


Friday, September 22, 2006

Canadian Institutes of Health Research:

Barbara Beckett, Associate Director.

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health:

Paula Goering, Director, Health Systems Research and Consulting Unit.

The Canadian Academy of Psychiatric Epidemiology:

Dr. Alain Lesage, Past President.

Alberta Mental Health Board:

Ray Block, CEO.

The Provincial Centre of Excellence for Child and Youth Mental Health at CHEO:

Dr. Ian Manion, Psychologist;

Karen Kidder, Manager.

Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health:

Phil Upshall, National Executive Director.

University of Victoria:

Dan Reist, Expert in Knowledge Translation, BC Centre for Addiction Research.

BC Mental Health and Addiction Services — Centre for Research and Knowledge Exchange:

Dr. Patrick Smith; Senior Advisor;

Peter Coleridge, Senior Advisor.

As an individual:

Bonnie Pape.

Hospital for Sick Children:

Ross Hetherington, Director, About Kids Health.

Canadian Health Services Research Foundation:

Irving Gold, Director of Knowlesge Transfer and Exchange.

National Network for Mental Health:

Constance McKnight, National Executive Director.


The Honourable Michael Kirby, Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Champagne, P.C., Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Eggleton, P.C., Fairbairn, P.C., *Hays, (or Fraser), *LeBreton, P.C., (or Comeau), Pépin, Nancy Ruth, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to the rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Nancy Ruth was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Forestall (September 12, 2006).

The name of the Honourable Senator Di Nino was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Champagne (September 18, 2006).

The name of the Honourable Senator Champagne P.C. was substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Di Nino (September 25, 2006).