Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006-07

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Thursday, May 10, 2007
Thursday, May 17, 2007
Thursday, May 31, 2007

Issue No. 23

Third and fourth meetings on:

The impact of the multiple factors and conditions that contribute to the health of Canada's populations — known collectively as the social determinants of health
Current social issues pertaining to Canada's largest Cities
(To study the subjects of poverty, housing and homelessness and refer the evidence to the two subcommittees)

First (final) meeting on:

Bill C-277, An Act to amend the Criminal Code
(luring a child)

Sixth meeting on:

The future of literacy programs in Canada

(Bill C-277)


Thursday, May 10, 2007

Campaign 2000:

Sid Frankel, Member, Steering Committee;

Katherine Scott, Vice-President Research at the Canadian Council on Social Development.

Canadian Association of Social Workers:

Glenn Drover, Social Worker.

Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants (OCASI):

Loly Rico, President;

Roberto Jovel, Policy and Research Coordinator.

National Association of Friendship Centres (NAFC):

Vera Pawis Tabobondung, President;

Jocelyn Formsma, Program Officer

Thursday, May 17, 2007

University of Winnipeg:

Jino Distasio, Director and Professor, Institute for Urban Studies.

Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives:

Molly McCracken, Manitoba Board Member.

McMaster University:

Barbara Wake Carroll, Professor, Department of Political Science.

Department of Human Resources, Labour and Employment of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Aisling Gogan, Director, Poverty Reduction Strategy.

Thursday, May 31, 2007

House of Commons:

Ed Fast, M.P., sponsor of the bill.

Department of Justice Canada:

Normand Wong, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Wilbert J. Keon, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Champagne, C.P, Cochrane, Cook, Cordy, Fairbairn, P.C., Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (or Tardif), *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Munson, Nancy Ruth, Pépin, Trenholme Counsell

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)