Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006-07

Chair: The Honourable JOYCE FAIRBAIRN, P.C.

Tuesday, May 29, 2007
Thursday, May 31, 2007

Issue No. 28

Fifty-seventh and fifty-eighth meetings on:

Rural poverty in Canada


Tuesday, May 29, 2007

As an individual:

Raymond Pong, Research Director, Centre for Rural and Northern Health Research, Laurentian University.

Hockey Canada:

Paul Carson, Director, Development.

Thursday, May 31, 2007

Forest Products Association of Canada:

Avrim Lazar, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Marta Morgan, Vice President, Trade and Competitiveness.

Federal Economic Development Initiative in Northern Ontario:

Louise C. Paquette, Director General;

Scott Merrifield, Director, Policy, Planning and Coordination.


The Honourable Joyce Fairbairn, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Leonard J. Gustafson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Biron, Callbeck, Fraser, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C., (or Tardif), *LeBreton, P.C., (or Comeau), Mahovlich, Oliver, Peterson, Segal, St. Germain, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Chaput substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Mercer (May 29, 2007).

The name of the Honourable Senator Fraser substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Chaput (May 30, 2007).