Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

First Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2006

Chair: The Honourable BILL ROMPKEY, P.C.

Thursday, November 2, 2006
Thursday, November 9, 2006
Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Issue No. 4

Ninth, tenth, eleventh and twelfth meetings on:

Issues relating to the federal government's new and evolving policy framework for managing Canada's fisheries and oceans


Thursday, November 9, 2006

The Honourable Tom Rideout, M.H.A.,
Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture, Province of Newfoundland and Labrador


Thursday, November 2, 2006

As an individual:

Philip Saunders, Dean, Dalhousie Law School, Dalhousie University.

Thursday, November 9, 2006

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Dave Lewis, Assistant Deputy Minister, Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture;

Tom Dooley, Director, Sustainable Fisheries and Oceans Policy, Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture.

As an individual:

Arthur May, President Emeritus, Memorial University of Newfoundland;

George Rose, Division of Degree Studies and Research, Memorial University of Newfoundland;

Gus Etchegary.

Petty Harbour Fishermen's Producer Cooperative Society Ltd.:

Tom Best.

As an individual:

The Honourable John Crosbie, P.C.

Fishermen, Food and Allied Workers:

Earle McCurdy, President.

As an individual:

Julie Huntington, Newfoundland and Labrador Coalition for Healthy Oceans;

J. Leonard Barron;

Carl Powell;

Fred Winson, North-East Avalon Group, Sierra Club of Canada;

D.H. Steele;

Raymond Walsh, Fisherman.

Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society — British Columbia Chapter:

Sabine Jessen, Conservation Director.

The Sponge Reef Project:

Manfred Krautter, Institute for Geology and Paleontology, University of Stuttgart.


The Honourable Bill Rompkey, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Janis G. Johnson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Baker, P.C., Campbell, Cochrane, Comeau, Cowan, Gill, *Hays (or Fraser), Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Meighen, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top