Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session, Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2007-08

Chair: The Honourable JOAN FRASER

Wednesday, April 9, 2008
Thursday, April 10, 2008

Issue No. 14

Third and fourth meetings on:

Bill S-210, An Act to amend the Criminal Code
(suicide bombings)


Wednesday, April 9, 2008

Senate of Canada:

The Honourable Jerahmiel S. Grafstein, sponsor of the bill.

As individuals:

Patrick Monahan, Dean, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University;

Ed Morgan, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto;

Leo Adler, Adler Bytensky Prutschi Barristers;

Mark Sandler, Cooper & Sandler Barristers & Solicitors.

Thursday, April 10, 2008

Canadians Against Suicide Bombing:

The Honourable Reuben Bromstein, President.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

William Trudell, Chair.


The Honourable Joan Fraser, Chair

The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Baker, P.C., Campbell, Di Nino, *Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (or Tardif), Joyal, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Merchant, Milne, Oliver, Stratton, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Grafstein substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Milne (April 10, 2008).

The name of the Honourable Senator Milne is substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Grafstein (April 10, 2008).