Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Second Session Thirty-ninth Parliament, 2007-08

Chair: The Honourable LISE BACON

Friday, February 8, 2008
Saturday, February 9, 2008

Issue No. 5

Seventh, eighth and ninth meetings on:

The containerized freight traffic handled by Canada's ports


Friday, February 8, 2008 (morning meeting)

Halifax Port Authority:

Karen Oldfield, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Paul MacIsaac, Senior Vice-President;

George Malec, Vice-President, Business Development and Operations.

Friday, February 8, 2008 (afternoon meeting)

Atlantic Provinces Economic Council (APEC):

David Chaundy, Senior Economist.

Melford International Terminal Inc.:

Paul Martin, President;

Bob Stevens, Chief Executive Officer;

John Vickerman, Principal, TranSystems Corporation;

Richie Mann, Vice-President, Marketing.

Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA):

Deborah Windsor, Vice-President, Nova Scotia;

Janine Fraser, Policies Analyst.

Greater Halifax Partnership:

Stephen Dempsey, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Dan English, Chief Administrative Officer, Halifax Regional Municipality.

NSCAD University:

John D. Mabley, Vice-President, University Relations;

Linda Hutchison, Associate Director of Advancement.

Saturday, February 9, 2008

Atlantic Institute for Market Studies:

Charles Cirtwill, Acting President;

Barrie Hebb, Research Economist.

International Longshoremen's Association Council of Unions:

David Cranston, President / Business Agent, I.L.A. Local 269;

Fred R. Rhodenizer, Vice-President, I.L.A. Local 269;

John W. Campbell, President, I.L.A. Local 1825.

Halifax Gateway Council:

James Frost, Executive Director;

John Hamblin, Member of the Board of Directors, Halifax Gateway Council, and President, Clarke IT Solutions Inc.

Consolidated Fastfrate:

Rob Pittman, Halifax Branch Manager.

Laurentian Energy:

James Wooder, Chief Executive Officer, Sydport Container Terminal Project.


The Honourable Lise Bacon, Chair

The Honourable Donald H. Oliver, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Cowan, Eyton, Fox, P.C., *Hervieux-Payette, P.C. (or Tardif), Johnson, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Mercer, Merchant, Phalen, Tkachuk, Zimmer

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The name of the Honourable Senator Cowan substituted for that of the Honourable Senator Dawson (February 8, 2008).

Back to top