Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, November 3, 2009 (in camera)
Tuesday, November 17, 2009
Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Issue No. 20

Thirty-third, thirty-fourth and thirty-fifth meetings on:

The federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples and on other matters generally relating to the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada (Issues pertaining to Indian Act elections, band council funding and related issues, and First Nations land management and environmental protection on reserves)


Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Christine Cram, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships;

Sara Filbee, Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Economic Development;

Peter Traversy, Director General, Planning and Resource Management;

Wendy Stewart-Fagnan, Director, Office of the Federal Interlocutor;

Brenda D. Kustra, Director General, Governance Branch.

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Sheila Fraser, Auditor General;

Ronnie Campbell, Assistant Auditor General;

Frank Barrett, Principal.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Nick G. Sibbeston, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Brazeau, Campbell, Carstairs, P.C., *Cowan (or Tardif), Dyck, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Patterson, Peterson, Raine, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen replaced the Honourable Senator Duffy (November 4, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Duffy replaced the Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen (November 3, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (October 29, 2009).

Back to top