Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable JOSEPH A. DAY

Tuesday, March 24, 2009
Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Issue No. 4

Third and fourth meetings on:

The 2009-2010 Estimates

First meeting on:

Elements contained in Bill C-10, the Budget Implementation Act, 2009


Tuesday, March 24, 2009:

Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Cameron Prince, Vice-President, Operations;

Paul Mayers, Acting Associate Vice-President, Programs;

Guy Lemay, Executive Director, Financial Services.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation:

Karen Kinsley, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Michel Tremblay, Chief Financial Officer.

Wednesday, March 25, 2009:

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada:

Louis Beauséjour, Director General, Employment Insurance Policy, Skills and Employment Branch.

Department of Finance Canada:

Mark Hodgson, Senior Policy Analyst, Labour Markets/Employment/Learning, Social Policy, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch.


The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Chair

The Honourable Irving R. Gerstein, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Chaput, *Cowan (or Tardif), De Bané, P.C., Di Nino, Eggleton, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Mitchell, Nancy Ruth, Neufeld, Ringuette, Rivard

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Callbeck replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (March 20, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Chaput replaced the Honourable Senator Moore (March 20, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Day replaced the Honourable Senator Fox, P.C. (March 20, 2009).