Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

Second Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2009

Chair: The Honourable BILL ROMPKEY, P.C.

Tuesday, May 26, 2009
Thursday, May 28, 2009

Issue No. 7

Sixth and seventh meetings on:

The study on issues relating to the federal government's current and
evolving policy frameworkfor managing Canada's fisheries and oceans


Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Alliance des pêcheurs professionnels du Québec:

Léonard Poirier, President.

Prince Edward Island Fishermen's Association:

Ed Frenette, Executive Director.

Fish, Food & Allied Workers Union:

Earle McCurdy, President.

Maritime Fishermen's Union:

Christian Brun, Executive Secretary.

Gulf Nova Scotia Bonafide Fishermen's Association:

Katherine Wallace, Executive Director.

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada:

Loyola Sullivan, Ambassador for Fisheries Conservation.


The Honourable Bill Rompkey, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Ethel M. Cochrane, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Adams, Cook, Cowan (or Tardif), Hubley, Johnson, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), MacDonald, Manning, Raine, Robichaud, P.C., Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Downe (May 28, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Downe replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (May 27, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Cowan replaced the Honourable Senator Eggleton, P.C. (May 27, 2009).

The Honourable Senator Eggleton, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Cowan (May 26, 2009).

Back to top