Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010-11

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011
Tuesday, February 8, 2011
Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Issue No. 17

First, second and third meetings on:

Bill S-11, An Act respecting the safety of drinking water on first nation lands


Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada:

Christine Cram, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships;

Karl Carisse, Senior Director, Strategic Initiatives Directorate, Community Infrastructure Branch, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships.

Health Canada:

Shelagh Jane Woods, Director General, Primary Health Care and Public Health, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch.

Department of Justice Canada:

Paul Salembier, General Counsel.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Assembly of First Nations:

Shawn (A-in-chut) Atleo, National Chief;

David Nahwegahbow, Senior Legal Counsel;

Irving Leblanc, Director of Infrastructure.

Chiefs of Ontario:

Angus Toulouse, Regional Chief of Ontario;

Johanna Lazore, Senior Advisor.

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs:

Ron Evans, Grand Chief.

Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs:

Chief Robert Chamberlin, Vice-President.

Institute on Governance:

John Graham, Senior Associate;

Jane Fulford, Vice-President, Aboriginal Governance.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Banks, Brazeau, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dallaire, Demers, Dyck, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Patterson, Poirier, Raine, Sibbeston, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (February 9, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Dyck replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (February 9, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Banks replaced the Honourable Senator Dyck (February 8, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (February 4, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (February 4, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Lang replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (February 1, 2011).

Back to top