Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010-11

Chair: The Honourable GERRY ST. GERMAIN, P.C.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011
Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Issue No. 18

Fourth and fifth meetings on:

Bill S-11, An Act respecting the safety of drinking water on first nation lands


Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Canadian Environmental Law Association:

Theresa McClenaghan, Executive Director and Legal Counsel.

As an individual:

Marie-Ann Bowden, Professor of Law, College of Law, University of Saskatchewan.

Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs Secretariat:

John Paul, Executive Director.

Assembly of Treaty Chiefs of Alberta:

Cameron Alexis, Chief, Chiefs Committee on Water;

Clayton D. Leonard, Counsel.

Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak, Inc.:

Michael Anderson, Research Director;

David Harper, Grand Chief.

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Canadian Bar Association:

Christopher Devlin, Executive Member, National Aboriginal Law Section;

Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians:

Randall Phillips, Grand Chief;

Joshua Shoemaker, Policy Analyst.

Kwilmu'kw Maw-Klusuaqn-Mi'kmaq Rights Initiative:

Twila Gaudet, Consultation Liaison Officer;

Laurie Suitor, Water and Wastewater Coordinator.


The Honourable Gerry St. Germain, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:
Ataullahjan, Brazeau, Campbell, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Lovelace Nicholas, Pépin, Poirier, Raine, Sibbeston, Stewart Olsen

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (February 16, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Pépin replaced the Honourable Senator Dallaire (February 15, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Banks (February 10, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (February 10, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (February 9, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Dyck replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (February 9, 2011).

Back to top