Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable MICHAEL A. MEIGHEN

Wednesday, April 21, 2010
Thursday, April 22, 2010

Issue No. 5

Fourth and fifth meetings on:
The study of the extent to which Canadians are saving in Tax-Free Savings Accounts and registered retirement savings plans


Wednesday, April 21, 2010

As individuals:

Gordon Pape, Publisher, The Income Investor, Mutual Funds/ETF's Update, The Canada Report and the Internet Wealth Builder;

David Dodge, Senior Advisor for Bennett Jones LLP, Chancellor of Queen's University.

Thursday, April 22, 2010

As individuals:

Leo Kolivakis, Independent Pension Analyst;

James Pierlot, Pension Lawyer and Consultant;

Kevin Milligan, Assistant Professor of Economics, University of British Columbia.

Informetrica Limited:

Richard Shillington, Potential Value of Tax-Free Savings Accounts (by video conference).


The Honourable Michael A. Meighen, Chair

The Honourable Céline Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Gerstein, Greene, Harb, Kochhar, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Massicotte, Mockler, Moore, Oliver, Ringuette, St. Germain, P.C. * Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Oliver replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (April 17, 2010).

The Honourable Senator St. Germain, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Dickson (April 17, 2010).

Back to top