Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable PAMELA WALLIN

Monday, May 31, 2010
Monday, June 7, 2010

Issue No. 5

Eighth and ninth meetings on:

Canada's national security and defence policy

(The state of the Canadian Forces)

(The role of our Forces in Afghanistan currently and post 2011)


Monday, May 31, 2010

National Defence:

Lieutenant-General Andrew Leslie, Chief of the Land Staff;

Chief Warrant Officer Wayne Ford, Army Sergeant Major;

Vice-Admiral Dean McFadden, Chief of the Maritime Staff;

Robert Cleroux, Command Chief Petty Officer;

Commodore J.E.T.P. Ellis, CD, Director General Maritime Force Development;

Lieutenant-General André Deschamps, Chief of the Air Staff.

Monday, June 7, 2010

National Defence:

General Walter Natynczyk, Chief of the Defence Staff.

Ambassador of Afghanistan in Canada:

His Excellency Jawed Ludin, Ambassador.


The Honourable Pamela Wallin, Chair

The Honourable Roméo Antonius Dallaire, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Banks, *Cowan (or Tardif), Day, Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Manning, Nolin, Pépin, Segal

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Segal replaced the Honourable Senator Meighen (June 4, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Nolin replaced the Honourable Senator Segal (June 1, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Day replaced the Honourable Senator Mitchell (June 1, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Segal replaced the Honourable Senator Nolin (May 28, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Mitchell replaced the Honourable Senator Day (May 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Meighen replaced the Honourable Senator Dickson (May 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Dickson replaced the Honourable Senator Meighen (May 25, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Pépin replaced the Honourable Senator Downe (May 13, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Downe replaced the Honourable Senator Pépin (May 11, 2010).

Back to top