Skip to content

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

Third  Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable PAMELA WALLIN

Monday, October 25, 2010
Monday, November 1, 2010

Issue No. 8

Fourteenth and fifteenth meetings on:

Canada's national security and defence policies
(Arctic sovereignty and security) (The state and future of the Canadian Forces Reserves) (The role of our Forces in Afghanistan currently and post 2011)


First meeting on:

Motion to change the official structural name of the Canadian Navy


Monday, November 1, 2010

The Honourable Lawrence Cannon, P.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs


Monday, October 25, 2010

National Defence:

Brigadier-General Jonathan Vance, Chief of Staff Land Strategy (Former Commander Joint Task Force Afghanistan);

Major-General Dennis C. Tabbernor, CMM, CD, Chief, Reserves and Cadet;

Colonel Josée Robidoux, Director of Reserves.

Carleton University:

Alexander Douglas, Adjunct Research Professor, Naval Historian.

Brigadier-General Jonathan Vance made a statement and answered questions.

Monday, November 1, 2010

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada:

Alan H. Kessel, Legal Advisor;

Sheila Riordon, Director General of Energy, Climate and Circumpolar Bureau.

National Defence:

John C. Eaton, Chair, Canadian Forces Liaison Council;

Captain (N) Jamie Cotter, Executive Director, Canadian Forces Liaison Council.

Réserves 2000 Québec:

Major-General (Ret'd) Frédéric Mariage, CMM, CD;

Colonel (Ret'd) Marcel Belleau.

As an individual:

Brigadier-General (Ret'd) Richard Frenette.


The Honourable Pamela Wallin, Chair

The Honourable  Roméo Antonius Dallaire, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Day, Greene, Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Marshall, Mitchell, Munson, Pépin, Segal

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Dallaire (November 1, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (October 29, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Greene replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (October 29, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Segal replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (October 29, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (October 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Neufeld replaced the Honourable Senator Greene (October 26, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Greene replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (October 25, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Meighen (October 22, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Pépin replaced the Honourable Senator Rompkey, P.C. (October 20, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Rompkey, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Pépin (October 20, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Meighen replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (October 20, 2010).

Back to top