Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable JOSEPH A. DAY

Wednesday, May 26, 2010
Tuesday, June 1, 2010
Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Issue No. 7

First and second meetings on:

The study of Canada's one-cent coin

First meeting on:

The study of the Supplementary Estimates (A), 2010-2011


Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Department of Finance Canada:

Wayne Foster, Director, Financial Markets Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch;

Ian Wright, Chief, Government Financing, Financial Sector Policy Branch.

Royal Canadian Mint:

Beverley A. Lepine, Chief Operating Officer;

J. Marc Brûlé, Chief Financial Officer.

Bank of Canada:

Pierre Duguay, Deputy Governor.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Mouvement Desjardins:

François Dupuis, Vice-President and Chief Economist;

Jean-Pierre Aubry, Economic Consultant.

As individuals:

John Palmer, Associate Professor, Department of Economics, University of Western Ontario;

Dinu Chande, Economics Teacher, Glebe Collegiate Institute.

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

David Enns, Associate Assistant Secretary;

Brian Pagan, Executive Director, Expenditure Operations and Estimates Division;

Ken Wheat, Senior Director, Expenditure Operations.


The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Chair

The Honourable Irving Gerstein, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dickson, Eggleton, P.C., Finley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Marshall, Murray, P.C., Neufeld, Poulin, Ringuette, Runciman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Poulin replaced the Honourable Senator Banks (May 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (May 27, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (May 25, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Banks replaced the Honourable Senator Poulin (May 21, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Neufeld replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (May 13, 2010).