Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and
International Trade

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, March 24, 2010
Thursday, March 25, 2010

Issue No. 2

Second and third meetings on:

The rise of China, India and Russia in the global economy and the implications for Canadian policy

First meeting on:

Such issues that may arise from time to time relating to foreign relations generally


Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada:

Ken Sunquist, Assistant Deputy Minister (Asia and Africa) and Chief Trade Commissioner;

Ken Macartney, Director General, South, Southeast Asia and Oceania;

Luc Santerre, Director, South, Southeast Asia and Oceania Commercial Relations.

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Government of India:

The Honourable Kamal Nath, Minister of Road Transport and Highways;

Narinder Chauhan, Deputy High Commissioner, High Commission of India.

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees:

H.E. Antonio Guterres, UN High Commissioner for Refugees;

Abraham Abraham, Representative in Canada.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Peter A. Stollery, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Cowan (or Tardif), Di Nino, Downe, Finley, Jaffer, Johnson, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Nolin, Segal, Smith, P.C., Wallin, Zimmer

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Zimmer replaced the Honourable Senator Mahovlich (March 25, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Johnson replaced the Honourable Senator Fortin-Duplessis (March 25, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Segal replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (March 25, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Segal (March 24, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Jaffer replaced the Honourable Senator De Bané, P.C. (March 22, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Stollery replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (March 18, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Mahovlich replaced the Honourable Senator Zimmer (March 18, 2010).

Back to top