Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Monday, June 14, 2010
Wednesday, June 16, 2010
Thursday, June 17, 2010 (in camera)

Issue No. 10

Fifteenth, sixteenth and seventeenth meetings on:

The study on the accessibility of post-secondary education in Canada


Monday, June 14, 2010

Citizenship and Immigration Canada:

Erica Usher, Senior Director, Geographic Operations.

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada:

Chris Greenshields, Director, International Education and Youth Division;

Jean-Philippe Tachdjian, Deputy Director and Trade Commissioner, Edu-Canada International Promotion of Education in Canada.

Canadian Bureau for International Education:

Karen McBride, President.

Canadian Institutes of Health Research:

Pierre Chartrand, Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer and Vice-President, Research Portfolio.

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada:

Margaret McCuaig-Johnston, Executive Vice-President.

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada:

Gisèle Yasmeen, Vice-President, Partnerships.

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Department of Finance Canada:

Chris Forbes, General Director, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch;

Baxter Williams, Director, Personal Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch.

Industry Canada:

Robert Dunlop, Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Innovation Sector.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, Champagne, P.C., Cordy, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, Eaton,  *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau),  Martin, Merchant,  Plett, Seidman

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Di Nino (June 15, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Greene (June 15, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Di Nino replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (June 14, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Greene replaced the Honourable Senator Demers (June 14, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Callbeck replaced the Honourable Senator Fairbairn, P.C. (June 11, 2010).

Back to top