Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, December 15, 2010 (in camera)
Thursday, December 16, 2010 (in camera)
Wednesday, February 2, 2011
Thursday, February 3, 2011

Issues No. 18

Thirteenth meeting on:

The study on Canada's pandemic preparedness

Nineteenth meeting on:

The study on the accessibility of post-secondary education in Canada

First and second meetings on:

Current social issues pertaining to Canada's largest cities

(The study on Canada's pandemic preparedness)


Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Maytree Foundation:

Ratna Omidvar, President.

As an individual:

Fran Klodawsky, Associate Professor, Carleton University.

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Statistics Canada:

Garnett Picot, Senior Analyst, Social Analysis Division.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada:

Deborah Tunis, Director General, Integration.

Canada West Foundation:

Robert Vineberg, Senior Fellow.

Centre for Immigration Policy Reform:

Martin Collacott, Spokesperson.

INSIGNIS Strategic Research Inc.:

David Harris, Director.

Federation of Canadian Municipalities:

Ben Henderson, Chair, Standing Committee on Social Economic Development.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Braley, Callbeck, Cordy, *Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Martin, Merchant, Meredith, Nancy Ruth, Seidman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Nancy Ruth replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (February 3, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Meredith replaced the Honourable Senator Champagne, P.C. (February 1, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Demers replaced the Honourable Senator Runciman (January 31, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Merchant replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (December 17, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Runciman replaced the Honourable Senator Demers (December 16, 2010).

The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Merchant (December 15, 2010).

Back to top