Skip to content
SOCI - Standing Committee

Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Third Session, Fortieth Parliament, 2010

Chair: The Honourable ART EGGLETON, P.C.

Wednesday, March 9, 2011
Thursday, March 10, 2011

Issues No. 22

Second (final) meeting on:
Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act

First meeting on:
Progress in implementing the 2004 10-Year Plan to Strengthen Health Care

Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act


The Honourable Jason Kenney, P.C., M.P., Minister of Citizenship and Immigration Canada


Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Citizenship and Immigration Canada:

Les Linklater, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Program Policy;

Mark Davidson, Acting Director General, Immigration Branch;

Elaine Menard, Legal Counsel.

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Health Council of Canada:

Dr. Jack Kitts, Chair;

John Abbott, Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Institute for Health Information:

John Wright, President and CEO.

Health Canada:

Abby Hoffman, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister;

Gigi Mandy, Director, Canada Health Act Division.

Statistics Canada:

Gary Catlin, Director General, Health, Justice and Special Surveys Branch;

Claudia Sanmartin, Senior Analyst, Health Analysis Division.


The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Chair

The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Braley, Champagne, P.C., Cordy, Cowan (or Tardif), Demers, Dyck, Eaton, Hubley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Comeau), Martin, Merchant, Seidman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

(The Honourable Senator Dyck replaced the Honourable Senator Peterson (March 9, 2011).

(The Honourable Senator Hubley replaced the Honourable Senator Mercer (March 9, 2011).

(The Honourable Senator Peterson replaced the Honourable Senator Dyck (March 9, 2011).

(The Honourable Senator Mercer replaced the Honourable Senator Callbeck (March 8, 2011).

Back to top