Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue 11 - Minutes of Proceedings - October 16, 2012

OTTAWA, Tuesday, October 16, 2012


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9:30 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the deputy chair, the Honourable Stephen Greene, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boisvenu, Doyle, Eggleton, P.C., Greene, Housakos, MacDonald, Mercer, Merchant, Unger and Verner, P.C. (10).

In attendance: Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament; Mona Ishack, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, June 15, 2011, the committee continued its consideration on emerging issues related to the Canadian airline industry. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 1.)


Air Transport Association of Canada:

John McKenna, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Les Aalders, Executive Vice President;

Wayne Gouveia, Vice President, Commercial General Aviation.

Exchange Income Corporation:

Michael Pyle, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Adam Terwin, Chief Financial Officer.

Mr. McKenna and Mr. Pyle each made opening statements and, together with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 10:48 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Jean-Yves LeFort

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top