Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12-13

Chair: The Honourable DENNIS DAWSON

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 (in camera)
Wednesday, June 5, 2013
Tuesday, June 11, 2013
Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Issue No. 18

First meeting on:

Study on challenges faced by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

First, second and third (final) meetings on:

Bill C-52, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act
(administration, air and railway transportation and arbitration)

(Bill C-52)


The Honourable Denis Lebel, P.C., M.P., Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities


Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Transport Canada:

Annette Gibbons, Director General, Surface Transportation Policy, Surface Freight Policy;

Carolyn Crook, Director, Rail Policy, Surface Freight Policy;

Alain Langlois, Senior Legal Counsel, Team Leader Modal Transportation Law, Legal Services.

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Forest Products Association of Canada:

Catherine Cobden, Executive Vice-President.

Grain Growers of Canada:

Richard Phillips, Executive Director.

Canadian Fertilizer Institute:

Robert Godfrey, Director, Policy and Government Relations;

Ian MacKay, Legal Counsel.

Western Canadian Shippers' Coalition:

Ian May, Chair;

Allan Foran, Legal Counsel.

Pulse Canada:

Greg Cherewyk, Executive Director.

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Coalition of Rail Shippers:

Robert Ballantyne, Chairman of the Board; President, Canadian Industrial Transportation Association.

Railway Association of Canada:

Michael Bourque, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Pacific Railway:

Michael Murphy, Vice-President, Government Affairs.

Canadian National Railway Company:

Sean Finn, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Services and Chief Legal Officer.


The Honourable Dennis Dawson, Chair

The Honourable Stephen Greene, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, *Cowan (or Tardif), Doyle, Eggleton, P.C., Housakos, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), MacDonald, Mercer, Merchant, Unger, Verner, P.C., Zimmer

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Fortin-Duplessis replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos (June 11, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator Fortin-Duplessis (June 12, 2013).

Back to top