Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Issue 18 - Minutes of Proceedings - June 11, 2013

OTTAWA, Tuesday, June 11, 2013


The Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day at 9:31 a.m., in room 2, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Dennis Dawson, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boisvenu, Dawson, Doyle, Eggleton, P.C., Fortin- Duplessis, Greene, MacDonald, Mercer, Unger and Verner, P.C. (10).

In attendance: Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, June 5, 2013, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-52, An Act to amend the Transportation Act (administration, air and railway transportation and arbitration).


Forest Products Association of Canada:

Catherine Cobden, Executive Vice-President.

Grain Growers of Canada:

Richard Phillips, Executive Director.

Canadian Fertilizer Institute:

Robert Godfrey, Director, Policy and Government Relations;

Ian MacKay, Legal Counsel.

Western Canadian Shippers' Coalition:

Ian May, Chair;

Allan Foran, Legal Counsel.

Pulse Canada:

Greg Cherewyk, Executive Director.

The chair made an opening statement.

Ms. Cobden, Mr. Godfrey and Mr. Phillips each made a statement and, together with Mr. MacKay, answered questions.

At 10:18 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:24 a.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Cherewyk and Mr. May each made a statement and, together with Mr. Foran, answered questions.

At 11:10 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Keli Hogan

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top