Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable JOSEPH A. DAY

Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Issue No. 18

Eleventh and twelfth meetings on:

Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2015


Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Transport Canada:

April Nakatsu, Director General, Crown Corporation Governance;

Marie-Hélène Lévesque, Senior Director, Detroit River International Crossing Project Team.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada:

Jaime Caceres, Director General, Real Property, Safety and Security, Human Resources and Corporate Services.

Public Works and Government Services Canada:

Marilea Pirie, Director General, Engineering Assets Strategy, Real Property Branch.

Buffalo and Fort Erie Public Bridge Authority:

Anthony Annunziata, Vice-Chair;

Ron Rienas, General Manager.

Niagara Falls Bridge Commission: (by video conference)

Ernie Smith, Chair;

Lew Holloway, General Manager.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Public Health Agency of Canada:

Kim Elmslie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Branch;

Dr. Theresa Tam, Branch Head, Health Security Infrastructure Branch;

Carlo Beaudoin, Chief Financial Officer.

Correctional Service Canada:

Don Head, Commissioner;

Liette Dumas-Sluyter, Assistant Commissioner, Corporate Services and CFO.

Veterans Affairs Canada:

Bernard Butler, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy, Commemoration and Communications;

Maureen Sinnott, Director General Finance Division, and Acting Chief Financial Officer.


The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Chair

The Honourable Larry W. Smith, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bellemare, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Chaput, *Cowan (or Fraser), Eaton, Gerstein, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Mockler, Rivard, Wells

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Boisvenu (October 7, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Boisvenu replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (October 6, 2014).